Friday, June 24, 2011

Follow Friday Gems : 06-24-11


Summer has begun! Already sizzling here on the east coast. Record heat for the entire month of June. Head to the beach to stay cool, or in my case off to the archives!

Here are a few blogging gems to help keep your mind of the sweltering heat.

On Father's Day Will's Genealogy Blog featured a needlepoint called Father Tree. Will's wife created this wonderful piece of family history.

The Graveyard Rabbit Online Journal has a great photography tip called Color Splash. Here you will find an interesting tool to make your pictures snap. Step by step instructions are provided.

Wendy from Shaking Leaves: My Adventures in Genealogy has a fun recipe for homemade ice cream. Check out Family Recipe Friday: Ice Cream A Go Go!!

John Cummings of Spotsylvania Civil War Blog has a fascinating post called Computer-Aided Forensic Facial Comparison Shifts Doubt of Alsop Image. John shares research conducted to answer Is This The Widow Susan Alsop? A treasure from the attic.

Lorine over at Olive Tree Genealogy Blog gives a brief review of a new website with her post Timeline Your Memories with Save Every Step. Lorine stated the site was "an interesting method of preserving memories!"

Lisa Alzo aka The Accidental Genealogist announces her Ready, Set, Write! Share Your Family's Story: Free Webinar. The webinar will be Wednesday, June 29, 2011 (2:00 PM Eastern U.S.; 1:00 PM Central; 12:00 PM Mountain; 11:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM GMT) hosted by Legacy Family Tree.

From Randy Seaver of Genea-Musings we have 1940 U.S. Census RFI Q&A. Great information as we head to that all important date.

Kristen of Finding Eliza posted my favorite photograph in Roscoe McCall - Wordless Wednesday. Would love to spend some time chatting with Roscoe!

The Norwegian Blog shares insight into Viking Influence on the English Language.

Caroline Pointer of Family Stories writes a poignant post about an ancestor without descendants in Tombstone Tuesday - 'Family Stuff'.

The National Archives at NARAtions is playing a new game! Tag, You're It! Just register and while searching the catalog you can tag with keywords and labels that are "meaningful" to you.

AnceStories: The Stories of My Ancestors reminds us Scanfest is Coming! What is Scanfest? The site states the following:

"What is Scanfest? It's a time when geneabloggers, family historians, and family archivist meet online here at this blog to chat while they scan their precious family documents and photos. Why? Because, quite honestly, scanning is time-consuming and boring!"

Hope to see you there!

Newly discovered geneablogging gems:

Family Pilgrimage

Nuts From the Family Tree

The Research Journal

Happy Follow Friday!

1 comment: